Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017


Uttar Pradesh Elections – 2017 : Facts and Figures 

  • The 17th Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly election will be held from February 11 to March 8, 2017 in 7 phases.
  • The results of the Uttar Pradesh elections will be announced on 11 March along with other 4 states (Goa, Uttarakhand, Punjab and Manipur) facing the assembly elections.
  • Chief Election Commissioner, Nasim Zaidi announced the poll schedule on Jan 4 and Model Code of Conduct becomes effective immediately.
  • The term of the current assembly will end on 8th March 2017.
  • In the previous election in 2012, the Samajwadi Party won a majority and formed government in the leadership of Akhilesh Yadav.
  • Voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines will be used along with EVM in 20 assembly constituencies covering 14 districts including Varanasi, Ghaziabad and Bareilly constituency.
  • The Election Commission is discouraging parties from using any environmentally hazardous materials for publicity and also discourages the use of loudspeakers.
  • EC announced that, colourful voter guide will be distributed to all families. This will have details of polling stations, date and time of polling, ID docs that can be used, etc.

Uttar Pradesh Elections

  • The ruling Samajwadi Party(SP) contesting election along with its alliance Indian National Congress with the leadership of Akhilesh Yadav. The Samajwadi Party will contest 298 seats and the Congress the remaining 105.
  • The second largest party of 2012 Uttar Pradesh elections, Bahujan Samajwadi Party(BSP) fighting the election with the leadership of its chief, Mayawati.
  • BJP is contesting Uttar Pradesh elections on its own in all the seats of Legislative Assembly.
  • The election commission has banned exit polls in the state.
  • The maximum limit for expenses for each candidates in UP would be Rs 28 lakh as per EC.
  • The rift between the SP head Mulayam Singh Yadav and his son CM, Akhilesh Yadav once reached till Election Commission for party symbol to split the party. But now Mulayam Singh is getting ready for campaigning for the party by compromising with his son.
  • Major political parties in UP:
    • Samajwadi Party (SP)
    • Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP)
    • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
    • Indian National Congress (INC)
    • Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD)
    • Communist Party of India (CPI)