Punjab Election – 2017


Punjab Election – 2017 : Facts and Figures 

  • The Punjab Election – 2017 will be held on 04 February 2017 to select the 117 members of the Punjab Legislative Assembly.
  • The results of the Punjab election will be announced on 11 March along with other 4 states (Goa, Uttarakhand, UP and Manipur) facing the assembly elections.
  • Chief Election Commissioner, Nasim Zaidi announced the poll schedule on Jan 4 and Model Code of Conduct becomes effective immediately.
  • The term of the current assembly will end on 18th March 2017.
  • The current ruling coalition is Shiromani Akali Dal and Bharatiya Janata Party alliance led by Parkash Singh Badal.
  • SAD and BJP coalition contesting the election with the leadership of Chief Minister, Prakash Singh Badal.
  • Aam Aadmi Party declared that it would contest the Legislative Assembly elections in 2017. So this is the first assembly elections for AAP in Punjab.
  • The Indian National Congress (INC) will take part in the elections under the leadership of Amarinder Singh.
  • Fourth largest party in Punjab, Bahujan Samajavadi Party (BSP) led by Mayawati also announced that it will contest in all 117 seats on its own.

Punjab election

  • The election commission has banned exit polls in the state. The ban would be operational in Amritsar Lok Sabha Bypoll as well.
  • The maximum limit for expenses for each candidates in Punjab would be Rs 28 lakh as per EC.
  • Diary of events of Punjab election 2017:

Notification – 11 January, 2017
Last date of nominations – 18 January, 2017
Scrutiny of nominations – 19 January, 2017
Last date for withdrawal of nominations – 21 January, 2017.
Elections to be held on 4 February, 2017 in single phase.

  • Three-time former BJP MP from Amritsar seat Navjot Singh Sidhu jumped into the fray as a Congress candidate, claiming that his mission is to “save Punjab” and oust the ruling Badals who “looted” the state.
  • Sidhu is fighting from the Amritsar East seat which was earlier held by his wife Navjot Kaur, who had switched over from BJP and joined Congress a few weeks ahead of him.